Johnson headlines cross country honors

Matthew GorrySports Writer

November 27, 2012

EAST BEND - Forbush freshman phenom Macy Johnson headlined area schools on the annual Mountain Valley Conference award lists, announced earlier this year.

Johnson raced to the Runner of the Year award to highlight the Falcon award-winners. Katey Driver and Paige Keaton joined Johnson on the all-conference list.

All-state runner Madeline Carter, who finished eighth at the state meet, was the only Lady Elk to earn all-conference honors.

McKenzie Stokes and Taylor Tharpe were named to the All-MVAC list for East Wilkes, while Melia Higgins received an honorable mention.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:


Laney Browder (Wilkes Central)

Madeline Carter (Elkin)

Mac Church (Ashe County)

Katey Driver (Forbush)

Tyler Eller (Ashe County)

Jordyn Halvorsen (Wilkes Central)

Madelyn Hamby (West Wilkes)

Madison Hamby (West Wilkes)

Alicia Holbrook (North Wilkes)

Macy Johnson (Forbush)

Paige Keaton (Forbush)

Krista LaPlante (West Wilkes)

Jennifer Rhodes (North Wilkes)

McKenzie Stokes (East Wilkes)

Taylor Tharpe (East Wilkes)

Honorable Mention

Alexis Armstrong (Ashe County)

Chelsea Eller (Ashe County)

Melia Higgins (East Wilkes)

Vic Reed (Ashe County)

Chrissy Simmons (Ashe County)

Kalen Vogler (Alleghany)