Six county players honored on all-conference teams

Matthew GorrySports Writer

March 12, 2013

EAST BEND - Yadkin County hoops programs placed six players on the All-Mountain Valley Conference and honorable mention lists, the league announced when it released the final awards last month.

Luke Shore, who powered Starmount’s late-season surge, garnered All-MVAC honors as a sophomore. Fellow sophomore James Ashley was named as an honorable mention, along with senior Zach Worley.

Forbush produced three honorees despite finishing in the league standings. Senior Hunter Gooden received his second-straight All-MVAC selection, while Barrett Hennings and Bryson Lee were named as an honorable mention.

Regular-season league champion Elkin swept the highest honors. Senior Sam Lane captured the conference’s Player of the Year Award, while head coach Kenneth Abrams was named the Coach of the Year after guiding the Buckin’ Elks to the regular-season title with a 15-1 mark.

Seniors Trey King and Frank Miller joined Lane on the all-conference list, while sophomores Kody King and Josh Strickland earned honorable mentions.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:

Varsity Conference Champions - Elkin

Junior Varsity Champions - Ashe County

Conference Tournament Champions - Wilkes Central

Player of the Year - Sam Lane (Elkin)

Coach of the Year - Ken Abrams (Elkin)

All Conference

Josh Bare (North Wilkes)

Zack Bell (West Wilkes)

Jordan Church (North Wilkes)

Will Cornette (Wilkes Central)

Hunter Gooden (Forbush)

Alex Greer (West Wilkes)

Trey King (Elkin)

Sam Lane (Elkin)

Frank Miller (Elkin)

Fabian Santos (Alleghany)

Calvin Shoemaker (Wilkes Central)

Luke Shore (Starmount)

Jordan Spell (Ashe County)

Austin Sprinkle (Alleghany)

Avery Wallis (East Wilkes)

Honorable Mention

Sam Allen (West Wilkes)

James Ashley (Starmount)

Devan Bailey (Wilkes Central)

Troy Behrens (North Wilkes)

Eli Gambill (Ashe County)

Avery Hash (Alleghany)

Barrett Hennings (Forbush)

Michael Howell (Wilkes Central)

McKinley Johnson (East Wilkes)

Kody King (Elkin)

Bryson Lee (Forbush)

Abram Logan (East Wilkes)

Josh Martin (North Wilkes)

Josh Phipps (West Wilkes)

Seth Sheets (Ashe County)

Josh Strickland (Elkin)

Hadden Williams (Alleghany)

Zach Worley (Starmount)

Reach Matthew Gorry at 835-1513 or mgorry@civitasmedia.com.