Election filing begins Monday

By Wendy Byerly Wood wbyerly-wood@civitasmedia.com

February 6, 2014

YADKINVILLE — While municipal elections were held last year, officials with the Yadkin County Board of Elections are gearing up for a larger field of candidates in 2014 with a number of county, state and federal seats up for grabs.

And those filing for candidacy should be aware that the local board of elections office has moved. The office is now located in the planning and permits building at 213 E. Elm St., Yadkinville, on the first floor, according to Janet Choplin, director of the YCBOE.

Filing for all seats begins Monday at noon and continues through Feb. 28 at noon. Costs vary for each seat based on the salary of the position.

At the county level, three nonpartisan Yadkin County Board of Education seats are on the ballot. Holding those seats now are Frank Brown, Howard McKnight and Diane Hampton. Cost to file is $5.

These seats will be decided on primary election day, with those elected taking office the first Monday in July.

Included in the partisan offices up at stake this year are clerk of court, sheriff, register of deeds, coroner, district attorney and two county commissioner seats. Residents county-wide are eligible to file for these seats, and costs for filing vary.

The clerk of court post held by Wayne Dixon will be up for grabs. Cost to file is $834.

Sheriff Ricky Oliver’s seat is at stake, with filing cost at $577 for that position.

Karen Wagoner serves as register of deeds, and her seat is on the ballot for 2014. Filing for that post is $436.

Coroner is held by “Slim” Collins. The office’s filing fee is $5.

The seat held by District Attorney Tom Horner for Judicial District 23 also is at stake. Filing for that office is $1,207.

Two county commissioner offices will be decided this year. Those include seats held by Gilbert Hemric and Frank Zachary. Filing fee for those offices is $18.

In addition, two nonpartisan elected offices for Soil & Water Conservation supervisor are at stake. Those are held by Buddy Matthews Jr. and Grady Shore.

Judicial seats open

Seats for Judicial District 23, in addition to the district attorney office, are at stake as well.

One Superior Court judgeship is open, which is held now by Edgar Gregory. It is an eight-year term.

Also, three District Court judge seats are on the ballot. Those are held by David Byrd, Michael Duncan and Mitchell L. Mclean.

Filing fee for those seats is $1,107 for district court, and $1,259 for superior court.

State, federal seats at stake

Two seats in the state General Assembly are at stake in 2014 — the 31st District office for N.C. Senate held by Pete Brunstetter and the 73rd District seat in the N.C. House of Representatives held by Mark Hollo.

Hollo already has announced that he will not seek re-election to his post.

Both of these seats are partisan, and filing fee for them is $207.

On the federal level, the office of U.S. Senate, held by Kay Hagan, and U.S. Congress 5th District, held by Virginia Foxx, will be decided.

Filing for those seats also are in February and the cost to file for those is $1,740 each.

Filing fees that are $50 or more must be paid by check and made payable to the Yadkin County Board of Elections.

The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and any questions may be directed to the office at 679-4227.

Wendy Byerly Wood may be reached at 336-835-1513 or on Twitter @wendywoodeditor.