Municipal elections for East Bend, Boonville, Yadkinville and Jonesville set for Nov. 3

By Kitsey Burns Harrison -

By Kitsey Burns Harrison

Municipal elections for the towns of Yadkinville, Boonville, Jonesville and East Bend will take place on Nov. 3. The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Absentee by mail and one-stop early voting will not be offered for the municipal elections.

The town of Boonville has three seats open, those seats belong to Tony Reece, William Paul Baity and Bill Florence. The term is four years. William Paul Baity and Tony Reece have filed for reelection. There is one one remaining seat up for election by write-in.

East Bend elections will include the office of mayor and four seats on the town board. The mayor of East Bend is Larry Adams. The seats coming up for election are the seats belonging to Laurence Todd, David Frederick and Archie Hicks. Also open for the East Bend election is the seat which was vacated earlier this year by former commissioner Stewart Maples. One of the East Bend commissioner seats is for a two-year term, two seats are four-year terms and the unexpired seat will be up for election again in 2017. The mayor seat is a two-year term. Archie Hicks is running for mayor. Larry Adams, Kyle Matthews and David Frederick are running for town commissioner. George Burns is running for the unexpired term.

The towns of Jonesville and Yadkinville also have three seats on their respective boards. The terms are four years.

Jonesville’s council members whose seats will be up for election this term are those held by Wayne Moore and Tracy Wall. Also open is the seat formerly held by Gene Pardue, who was elected as mayor in 2013. Pardue previously served on the town council and had two years remaining on his term when he ran and was elected as mayor. The board elected not to fill the open seat until the next election cycle.

Tommy Casstevens, Danny Lewis, Judy Wolfe and incumbents Wayne Moore and Tracy Wall have filed for the three available seats on the Jonesville town council.

On the Yadkinville town board, commissioners whose terms are set to expire are Betty Driver, Tony Hall and Monta Davis-Oliver, all of whom have filed for reelection.

Voting precinct locations are as follows:

• Boonville – Boonville Fire Department, 207 S. Carolina Ave., Boonville

• East Bend – East Bend Senior Center, 473 E. Main St., East Bend

• Jonesville – Yadkin Valley Senior Center, 121 Delos Martin Drive, Jonesville

• Yadkinville – Yadkin County Senior Center, 207 E. Hemlock St., Yadkinville

Kitsey Burns Harrison may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @RippleReporterK.

By Kitsey Burns Harrison

comments powered by Disqus