Commissioners, school board members run for office

By Kitsey Burns Harrison -

Several local offices will be on the ballot for the primary election in March. Along with the primary for a number of state and national offices, Yadkin voters will cast their votes in a primary for the county commissioners. Running for election are incumbents David Moxley, Kevin Austin and Marion Welborn. Bryan Wyatt also is running for Yadkin County commissioner.

Economic development and bringing in new businesses to the county is the primary platform on which Wyatt is running.

“We have an empty hospital, a reevaluation coming up and no ground breaking of any industry,” Wyatt said. “Every county around us has building going on and lots of new stores coming in. Yadkin needs to be on that list to get some of these businesses. We have a great school system for kids to learn, but when they finish schooling there is no where for them to go but to out-of-county jobs. This needs to be one of the main things we are out to change and I will make every effort I can to do just that. Now to finish I will ask every Yadkin County citizen to help me get to where I can work to accomplish fixing these problems.”

Commissioner Kevin Austin, who is running for reelection and serves as chairman of the board, said he felt he still had a lot to offer the county.

“I have really enjoyed the things we’ve done, the advancements, and I think there’s a lot more to come in the future,” Austin said. “I’m really excited about this hospital’s future and I want to be a part of that solution along with whatever comes up for the county.”

Marion Welborn said he felt the current board has done a good job and works well together and he hoped to continue to be a part of that.

“I think that we’ve accomplished a lot in the county during the time I’ve been a commissioner and at the present time we’re in the middle of some projects, two of them being the East Bend waterline and the hospital project, and I’d like to get those finished up and I think there is a lot I can help do in Yadkin County,” said David Moxley.

The March primary will serve as the election for the Yadkin County School Board. Incumbents Lynn Allred, Rex Baity and Jennifer Hemric are running for reelection as is newcomer Sharon Yale.

“I wish to serve on our school board to build upon the great foundation of our current board and help serve to meet the needs of students and educators,” Yale said.

Also up for a deciding vote in March is a $2 billion bond referendum known as Connect NC. The bond involves targeted, long-term investments and projects in 76 NC counties involving the UNC system, community colleges, agriculture, parks and the zoo, water and sewer and local parks as well as the National Guard and public safety. The bond will not involve any new taxes or tax increases. For more details on the Connect NC bond, visit

The March primary also involves a big change in procedure. Voters will now be required to show photo identification when voting. There are several types which will be accepted. Driver’s License/Permit (may be expired up to four years), or if license expired after 70th birthday, DMV issued ID card (may be expired up to four years), US Passport/Passport Card (unexpired), Military ID Card (unexpired, if there is an expiration date on it), Veterans ID Card (unexpired, if there is an expiration date on it), Certain Tribal Enrollment Cards.

Voters who are unable to obtain an acceptable photo ID, due to reasonable impediment, (lack of proper documents, family obligations, transportation problems, work schedule, illness or disability among others), may still vote a provisional ballot at the polls.

Photo ID is not required to cast a mail-in absentee ballot. Absentee ballot request forms are available online from the Yadkin County Board of Elections website, the State Board of Elections website, or in the local Board of Elections office.

Curbside voters (voters who cannot enter the polling place without assistance because of age or disability) may vote from their vehicle but must show acceptable photo ID or another acceptable document with their name and address (current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document).

The deadline for voter registration is Feb. 19. Absentee by Mail will begin on Jan. 25 and be available until March 8 at 5 p.m.

One-Stop Voting will be held upstairs in the Planning, Permitting and Elections building, located at 213 E. Elm St. in Yadkinville. The hours will be: March 3-5 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; March 7-11 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; and then March 12 from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. There also will be curbside voting available during this time.

The polls will be open on Election Day, March 15 from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

In the event of a second primary, the date will be May 24 if it is for a Federal office and May 3 if otherwise.

The Elections Office is open Monday through Friday of each week, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and any questions may be directed to the office at 336-679-4227.

Kitsey Burns Harrison may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @RippleReporterK.

By Kitsey Burns Harrison

comments powered by Disqus