Main Street Champions honored

Don Hudson, left, and Will Shover are recognized as Main Street Champions for 2015.

Submitted photo

GOLDSBORO — Main Street Champions recently were recognized for their commitment to downtown improvements and strong communities this morning during an awards breakfast in Goldsboro. Thirty-seven individuals received honors for their contributions in 2015. This year’s group of Main Street Champions brings the total number to 603 since Champions were first named in 1980 as part of N.C. Main Street’s 20thanniversary celebration.

Among those honored were Elkin’s Main Street Champions Don Hudson and Will Shover.

Commerce Secretary John E. Skvarla III attended the Breakfast with Main Street Champions Ceremony at Goldsboro’s Paramount Theatre to personally thank each recipient.

“Main Street Champions recognize the possibilities in their downtowns and strive to make those possibilities a reality,” said Skvarla. “N.C. Main Street Champions represent some of our communities most valued leaders.”

“This year’s Champions represent Main Street board members and volunteers, nonprofit leaders, downtown developers and small business owners, elected officials, city employees, and boy scouts,” said Liz Parham, director of the N.C. Main Street & Rural Planning Center. “These individuals give 110% to their community and then ask; what’s next.”

Laura Gaylord, Main Street and community manager for Elkin, said of Hudson and Shover for their nomination, “Don Hudson and Will Shover have operated Rhythm On Main Dance & Gymnastics for six years and this past year, purchased their second historical building — bringing the corporate offices of Dance Machine Productions to downtown Elkin.

“Their dance students perform at Elkin’s annual Light-Up Night festivities on Main Street each year. Don and Will also host an annual Scavenger Hunt for their students to learn about downtown Elkin and its history, and partner with other downtown business providing Rhythm students birthday cards, which include gift cards to shop at downtown stores,” she said. “They created and organized Elkin’s annual Trick-or Treat on Main event two years ago, which now brings large crowds of locals and families from the surrounding communities into downtown. Don has served on the Main Street Advisory Board for three years and is known to pressure wash a sidewalk or pull weeds when he thinks no one is looking.”

Other Main Street Champions honored were:

• Vince Hill and Neil Brock, Belmont Main Street Mike Domokur, Heart of Brevard, Inc.

• Curtis and Alice Jones, City of Clayton & Clayton Downtown Development Association

• Marshall Thornton and Michael Thornton, Clinton Main Street Program

• Concord Rotary Club Board and Members, Concord Downtown Development Corporation Barry Carter, Eden Downtown Development, Inc.

• Albemarle Bank – Edenton Advisory Board, Destination Downtown Edenton

• Cecil and Jason Geer, Forest City Main Street

• Friends of the Museums of Fuquay-Varina Board of Directors, Fuquay-Varina Downtown

• Pam Cash, Garner Revitalization Association

• The Honorable Al King, City of Goldsboro and Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation Patty Adamic, Historic Downtown Hendersonville Julie Stamper-Phelps, Historic Hertford, Inc.

• Tony and Margaret Jackson, The Jackson Group, Inc., Hickory Downtown Development Association

• John William Ellis, Pride of Kinston, Inc.

• City of Lenoir Building and Maintenance Division, City of Lenoir Main Street Program Davidson County Commissioners, Uptown Lexington, Inc.

• Wayne Hoyle, Downtown Development Association of Lincolnton, Inc.

• Nancy Spencer, Marion Business Association Charlotte Eidson, City of Morganton Gene Rees, Mount Airy Downtown Inc.

• Jerry Hodge, Downtown Newton Development Association Larry Spencer, Downtown North Wilkesboro Partnership, Inc.

• Titus Workman, Main Street Roanoke Rapids

• David Joyner, Main Street Rocky Mount

• Bruce Wrenn, Roxboro Development Group Kitty McCammon, Rutherford Town Revitalization Lynn Raker, Downtown Salisbury Inc.

• David Montgomery, Downtown Sanford, Inc.

• Austin McInnis and Boy Scout Troop 100, Uptown Shelby Association, Inc.

• Todd Johnson, Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation

• David Niven, Spruce Pine Main Street

• Jeff Archer, Downtown Statesville Development Corporation James Warren, Wake Forest Downtown, Inc.

• Chief Bill Hollingsed, Downtown Waynesville Association

• Culbreth Spivey, Wilson Downtown Development Corporation

Don Hudson, left, and Will Shover are recognized as Main Street Champions for 2015. Hudson, left, and Will Shover are recognized as Main Street Champions for 2015. Submitted photo
comments powered by Disqus