Election filing ends Friday

The filing period for municipal elections began on July 6. The filing period ends at noon on Friday. Filing fee is $5.

The town of Boonville has three seats open, those seats belong to Tony Reece, William Paul Baity and Bill Florence. As of press time, there were no filings for the open seats on the Boonville town board. The term is four years.

East Bend elections will include the office of mayor and four seats on the town board. The mayor for East Bend is Larry Adams. The seats coming up for election are the seats belonging to Laurence Todd, David Frederick and Archie Hicks. Also open for the East Bend election is the seat that was vacated earlier this year by former commissioner Stewart Maples. One of the East Bend Commissioner seats if for a two-year term, two seats are four-year terms and the unexpired seat will be up for election again in 2017. The mayor seat is a two-year term.

At press time, Kyle Matthews has filed for East Bend commissioner.

The towns of Jonesville and Yadkinville also have three seats on their respective boards. The terms are four years.

Jonesville’s council members whose seats will be up for election this term are those held by Wayne Moore and Tracy Wall. Also open is the seat formerly held by Gene Pardue, who was elected as mayor in 2013. Pardue previously served on the town council and had two years remaining on his term when he ran and was elected as mayor. The board elected not to fill the open seat until the next election cycle.

Tommy Casstevens, Danny Lewis and incumbent Tracy Wall have filed for seats on the Jonesville town council, as of press time.

On the Yadkinville town board, commissioners whose terms are set to expire are Betty Driver, Tony Hall and Monta Davis-Oliver, all who have filed for reelection as of press time.

Voter registration deadline for this year is Oct. 9 by 5 p.m. Town elections will take place on Nov. 3, with polls open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The Yadkin County Board of Elections office also noted that absentee by mail and one-stop early voting will not be offered for the municipal elections.

comments powered by Disqus