Municipal election filings for 2015

Staff report

The filing period for municipal elections ended on Friday.

The town of Boonville has three seats open, those seats belong to Tony Reece, William Paul Baity and Bill Florence. The term is four years. William Paul Baity and Tony Reece have filed for reelection. There is one one remaining seat up for election by write-in.

East Bend elections will include the office of mayor and four seats on the town board. The current mayor of East Bend is Larry Adams. The seats coming up for election are the seats belonging to Laurence Todd, David Frederick and Archie Hicks. Also open for the East Bend election is the seat that was vacated earlier this year by former commissioner Stewart Maples. One of the East Bend Commissioner seats is for a two-year term, two seats are four-year terms and the unexpired seat will be up for election again in 2017. The mayor seat is a two-year term. Archie Hicks filed for the mayor’s seat. Larry Adams, Kyle Matthews and David Frederick are running for town commissioner. George Burns is running for the unexpired term.

The towns of Jonesville and Yadkinville also have three seats on their respective boards. The terms are four years.

Jonesville’s council members whose seats will be up for election this term are those held by Wayne Moore and Tracy Wall. Also open is the seat formerly held by Gene Pardue, who was elected as mayor in 2013. Pardue previously served on the town council and had two years remaining on his term when he ran and was elected as mayor. The board elected not to fill the open seat until the next election cycle.

Tommy Casstevens, Danny Lewis, Judy Wolfe and incumbents Wayne Moore and Tracy Wall have filed for seats on the Jonesville town council.

On the Yadkinville town board, commissioners whose terms are set to expire are Betty Driver, Tony Hall and Monta Davis-Oliver, all of whom have filed for reelection.

Voter registration deadline for this year is Oct. 9 by 5 p.m. Town elections will take place on Nov. 3, with polls open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The Yadkin County Board of Elections office also noted that absentee by mail and one-stop early voting will not be offered for the municipal elections.

Staff report

comments powered by Disqus