Last updated: May 06. 2014 10:33PM - 413 Views
By Anthony Gonzalez agonzalez@civitasmedia.com

Marion Welborn
Marion Welborn
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

YADKINVILLE — Four candidates vying for three seats for the upcoming term on the Yadkin County Board of Commissioners squared off on Tuesday’s Primary Day election.

The candidates were incumbents Gilbert Hemric, Marion Welborn and Frank Zachary. The newcomer is Bryan Wyatt. All candidates were running on the Republican line.

After the votes have been cast and counted by election officials, the unofficial results are:

• Frank C. Zachary — 4,736 — 31.16 percent

• Gilbert Hemric — 3,962 — 26.07 percent

• Marion G. Welborn — 3,782 — 24.89 percent

• Bryan Wyatt — 2,717 — 17.88 percent

“I am proud to be re-elected today and proud that the electorate voted me in for four more years,” said Commissioner Gilbert Hemric. “Over the next four years, some concerns I am eyeing are infrastructure for water and sewer.”

Hemric expressed support for Wyatt’s attempt to seek office saying everyone has an opportunity to run, but even with coming up short Wyatt can find ways to serve in other capacities.

Welborn, Zachary and Wyatt were not available for comment.

Anthony Gonzalez may be reached at 336-835-1513 or on Twitter @newsgonz.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com