Last updated: February 11. 2014 7:55PM - 1628 Views
By Kitsey E. Burns kburns@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

YADKINVILLE — Election filing began on Monday and a number of candidates already have thrown their hat in the ring for the 2014 elections.

As of press time Tuesday, the Yadkin County Board of Elections reported the following filings.

Lee Zachary of Yadkinville has filed for election to the N.C. House of Representatives, 73rd District on the Republican ticket.

Incumbent Yadkin County Commissioners Gilbert Hemric, Marion G. Welborn and Frank C. Zachary all have filed for re-election on the Republican ticket. Bryan Wyatt of Jonesville also will seek a seat on the county Board of Commissioners, Wyatt has filed on the Republican ticket.

Beth Holcomb of East Bend and April Mendenhall of Yadkinville have filed for Clerk of Court on the Republican ticket. Aric Wilhelm (Republican) of Yadkinville has filed for Register of Deeds.

In addition to incumbent Sheriff Ricky Oliver, three other men have filed for Yadkin County Sheriff. Eric R. Ball of Jonesville and Donnie Talley and Gary Wayne Willard, both of Yadkinville, will be running for the office of sheriff on the 2014 ballot. All the candidates have filed on the Republican ticket.

Three nonpartisan Yadkin County Board of Education seats are also on the ballot, and incumbent Howard McKnight has filed for re-election.

According to a press release, Tom E. Horner has filed for re-election as the district attorney for the 23rd Prosecutorial District, which covers Alleghany, Ashe, Yadkin and Wilkes counties.

Judge Michael D. Duncan filed for the position of superior court judge for the 23rd Judicial District on Monday.

Congresswoman Virginia Foxx filed for re-election Monday at the Watauga County Board of Elections, according to a press release. She will be running for re-election on the Republican ticket in North Carolina’s Fifth Congressional District, which includes all of Alexander, Ashe, Alleghany, Davie, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties and parts of Catawba, Davidson, Forsyth, Iredell and Rowan counties. If re-elected, this will be Foxx’s sixth term serving in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Election filing will continue through Feb. 28. The Yadkin County Board of Elections office is located in the planning and permits building at 213 E. Elm St., Yadkinville, on the first floor. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and any questions may be directed to 336-679-4227.

Kitsey E. Burns may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @RippleReporterK.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com