Last updated: February 25. 2014 5:07PM - 847 Views
By Kitsey E. Burns kburns@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

YADKINVILLE — Election filing will end tomorrow at noon. Those still interested in filing for the 2014 election may do so at the Yadkin County Board of Elections office, located in the planning and permits building at 213 E. Elm St., Yadkinville, on the first floor.

Filing began on Feb. 10 and as of press time Tuesday, the following candidates had filed, all on the Republican ticket.

Lee Zachary of Yadkinville will be running for N.C. House of Representatives, 73rd District. Incumbent Rep. Mark Hollo will not be running for re-election.

Incumbent Yadkin County Commissioners Gilbert Hemric, Marion G. Welborn and Frank C. Zachary all have filed for re-election and newcomer Bryan Wyatt.

Beth Holcomb and April Mendenhall have filed for Clerk of Court. Aric Wilhelm filed for Register of Deeds. Eric R. Ball, Donnie Talley, Gary Wayne Willard and incumbent Ricky Oliver filed for Yadkin County sheriff.

Incumbent Coroner James “Slim” Collins of East Bend filed for re-election.

Three nonpartisan Yadkin County Board of Education seats are also on the ballot, and incumbents Diane Hampton and Howard McKnight have filed for re-election.

Primary election day is May 6 from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Kitsey E. Burns may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter @RippleReporterK.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com