Last updated: August 26. 2014 1:01AM - 269 Views
By Jim Fuller jfuller@civitasmedia.com

Buck Stevens of Statesville
Buck Stevens of Statesville
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Bryan Nance of Ronda won for the fourth time in the last five Limited Sportsman features and Buck Stevens of Statesville picked up his first Open Wheel Modified win since June 21 at Friendship Motor Speedway Saturday night.

Other winners included points leader Chad Call of North Wilkesboro in the Super Stock 4 class; Chase McCormick of Dobson in the SeCA Crate Late Model class; Jody Miller of Moravian Falls in the Renegades class; Doug Clonch of Millers Creek in the Xtreme Stock 4 class; and points leader Stephanie Clew Caudle of Cooleemee in the UCars class. Andrew Agee won the “Good Ole Boys” race.

With his recent run Nance has tightened the points race with Kevin Gwyn, who finished second, and Keith Holder. The only race in the last five Nance didn’t win, he finished second.

It was the fifth win of the season at Friendship for Stevens. He won four features in a seven-week stretch in May and June, but his best finishes over the last two months were a second-place finish and two third-place finishes.

“We got the monkey off our back,” Stevens said. “The track stayed together good. I drew up front. We won the heat race.”

Stevens took the inside pole and grabbed the win after only “seven to 10” green-flag laps. “I was very fortunate,” Stevens said.

To win at Friendship, Stevens said you have to be “cautiously aggressive.”

Stevens is sponsored by JRS Competition Finishes in Mooresville; 0° Production in Mooresville; Southeastern Foods in Dallas; Highside Race Cars in Mooresville; Tomahawk Performance in Germanton; Piranha Ultrasonic in Mooresville; Mitchell Coble Racing in Mount Airy; Freedom Chassis in Mooresville; and Circle Track Warehouse in Mooresville.

“I want to thank Friendship for having us as a class this year,” Stevens said. “And Roaring Thunder Speedway (Ararat, Virginia) for having us.”

Stevens also wanted to thank his crew: Michael Banks, Daniel Benfield, Drew Banks, Michelle Stevens (his wife), and Greyson Stevens (his son.)

Racing continues Saturday night at Friendship Motor Speedway.

Results — Limited Sportsman: 1. Bryan Nance; 2. Kevin Gwyn; 3. David Capps. Super Stock 4: 1. Chad Call; 2. Billy Robbins; 3. Steve Faw. Open Wheel Modifieds: 1. Buck Stevens; 2. George Anen; 3. Jeff Parsons. SECA Crate Late Model: 1. Chase McCormick; 2. Chris Cheek; 3. Landon Mitchell. Renegades: 1. Jody Miller; 2. Clayton Wooten; 3. Ken Karriker. Xtreme Stock 4: 1. Doug Clonch; 2. Austin Caudle; 3. Tim Wyatt. UCars: 1. Stephanie Clew Caudle; 2. Clifton Richardson; 3. Todd Gwynn. Good Ole Boys: 1. Andrew Agee; 2. Steve Miller; 3. Paul Blalock.

Jim Fuller may be reached at 336-258-4052 or Twitter @elkinareasports.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com