Last updated: May 31. 2013 10:26PM - 193 Views
Matthew Gorry
Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

EAST BEND - State qualifier Alec Faircloth highlighted Forbush’s nominees when the Mountain Valley Conference released its annual awards earlier this month.

Faircloth, who ran to a 79th-place finish at the state meet, was joined by Ben Wall on the all-conference team.

The East Wilkes boys swept the Mountain Valley Conference top awards after capturing the conference crown earlier this season.

Abram Logan raced to Runner of the Year honors, while Anita Tharpe earned the Coach of the Year nod after guiding the Cardinals to a fourth-place finish at the 1A Cross Country State Championships.

Logan, who finished fifth at the state meet, was one of five Cards to make the all-conference team, joined by Philip Hemric, Will Jolly, Zach Prevette and Luke Stokes.

Freshman state qualifier Jacob Parker headlined Elkin’s nominees, earning all-MVAC honors in his first season. Said Javier was named an honorable mention.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:


Daniel Angarita (West Wilkes)

Josh Englebert (West Wilkes)

Alec Faircloth (Forbush)

Josh Hall (West Wilkes)

Philip Hemric (East Wilkes)

Rylan Hincher (North Wilkes)

Will Jolly (East Wilkes)

Abram Logan (East Wilkes)

Nic Nunn (Wilkes Central)

Jacob Parker (Elkin)

Zach Prevette (East Wilkes)

Colby Shell (West Wilkes)

Luke Stokes (East Wilkes)

Andrew Tedder (Ashe County)

Ben Wall (Forbush)

Honorable Mention

Gareth Berry (Ashe County)

Josh Gowan (Wilkes Central)

Said Javier (Elkin)

Jonathan Nicholas (Ashe County)

Connor Pate (West Wilkes)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Yadkinville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com