Filing open for municipal seats in Boonville, East Bend and Jonesville

By Kitsey Burns Harrison -

On Friday, filing opened for even-year municipal elections, which includes Jonesville, Boonville and East Bend in Yadkin County. This will be the first year for the towns to be on the ballot along with the federal, state and countywide offices. The town of Yadkinville will remain in the odd number year (2019).

The Jonesville Town Council seats on the ballot will include those held by Andy Green and Anita Darnell, and one unexpired term which had been held by the late Judy Wolfe and will end in 2020. Also, the mayoral seat, held by Gene Pardue, is on the ballot.

The seat of East Bend mayor, held by Archie Hicks, and three commissioners seats — a two-year term held by Mae Luffman and two four-year terms held by Wanda Johnson and George Burns — will be decided in the general election.

In Boonville, the mayoral seat, held by Rusty Hunter IV, and two commissioners seats, held by Gerald Brown and Bonnie Lasky, will be on the November ballot.

As of press time, Wanda Johnson of East Bend filed for reelection as well as Andy Green of Jonesville. Incumbent Gene Pardue has filed for reelection as well as newcomer David Henderson for the Jonesville mayoral seat. Creston “Chip” Mason has filed for Jonesville commissioner.

Other Yadkin County candidates on the ballot for November are Bobby “Bud” Matthews Jr. and Grady M. Shore running for Yadkin Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor. Running unopposed are incumbents Ricky Oliver for Sheriff; Aric Wilhelm for Register of Deeds; James “Slim” Collins for Coroner; Beth Williams Holcomb for Clerk of Court, and Gilbert Hemric, Marion Welborn and Frank Zachary for Yadkin County Board of Commissioners.

The deadline to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election will be Oct. 12 at 5 p.m.

Absentee by mail will begin on Sept. 7 and the deadline to request an absentee by mail will be Oct. 30 at 5 p.m.

The deadline to return absentee by mail ballots will be Nov. 6 if returning in person and Nov. 9 if postmarked by Nov. 6.

One-Stop “Early” voting will begin on Oct. 18 though the final dates for early voting have not yet been decided. That will be reported as soon as the dates are finalized.

All precincts will be open on Election Day, Nov. 6, for voting with curbside voting available to those who cannot enter the voting enclosure.

Filing remains open for the municipal seats until noon July 20, and the cost to file is $5. Filing for these seats takes place at the Yadkin County Board of Elections Office located at 213 E. Elm St., Yadkinville, or call the office at 336-849-7907 with any questions.

Kitsey Burns Harrison may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter and Instagram @RippleReporterK.

By Kitsey Burns Harrison