Candidates file for municipal seats in Boonville, Jonesville, East Bend

By Wendy Byerly Wood - - and Kitsey Burns Harrison -

The final candidates who will be on the ballot in November for municipal seats in Jonesville, Boonville and East Bend include incumbents for some seats as well as many newcomers. In Boonville, the mayoral seat will be up for grabs via write-in. Local election filing began July 13 and ended at noon on Friday.

Boonville Mayor Rusty Hunter, and commissioners Gerald Brown and Bonnie Lasky, will be replaced by newcomers to the town board after the November election. None of the three candidates filed for reelection.

No candidate filed for the mayoral seat so it will be on the November ballot as a write-in slot. Three candidates, Wayne Cook, Larry Bonagura and Justin S. Phillips, filed for the two open Boonville town board seats.

David Henderson will challenge incumbent Gene Pardue in the Jonesville mayoral race. Chip Mason and Courtney Henderson will face incumbents Anita Darnell and Andy Green for two open seats on the Jonesville Town Council.

One additional seat on the board is for the unexpired term ending in 2020, which was held by the late Judy Wolfe. Regina Adkins and Danny Lewis have filed for the unexpired term.

East Bend Mayor Archie Hicks has filed for reelection as well as three incumbent commissioners, Mae Luffman, Wanda Johnson and George Burns.

Other Yadkin County candidates on the ballot for November are Bobby “Bud” Matthews Jr. and Grady M. Shore running for Yadkin Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor. Running unopposed are incumbents Ricky Oliver for Sheriff; Aric Wilhelm for Register of Deeds; James “Slim” Collins for Coroner; Beth Williams Holcomb for Clerk of Court, and Gilbert Hemric, Marion Welborn and Frank Zachary for Yadkin County Board of Commissioners.

The deadline to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election will be Oct. 12 at 5 p.m.

Absentee by mail will begin on Sept. 7 and the deadline to request an absentee by mail will be Oct. 30 at 5 p.m.

The deadline to return absentee by mail ballots will be Nov. 6 if returning in person and Nov. 9 if postmarked by Nov. 6.

One-stop early voting will begin Oct. 17. One-stop voting takes place upstairs at the Board of Election office, 213 E. Elm Street in Yadkinville, and will be available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 17 – 19; Oct. 22 – 26; Oct. 29 – Nov. 2 and Saturday, Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

All precincts will be open on Election Day, Nov. 6, for voting with curbside voting available to those who cannot enter the voting enclosure.

Kitsey Burns Harrison may be reached at 336-679-2341 or on Twitter and Instagram @RippleReporterK.

By Wendy Byerly Wood

and Kitsey Burns Harrison