Voter registration ends Oct. 12

By Kitsey Burns Harrison -

Voter registration for the Nov. 6 election ends on Oct. 12 at 5 p.m. Absentee by mail began on Sept. 7 and the deadline to request an absentee by mail will be Oct. 30 at 5 p.m. The deadline to return absentee by mail ballots will be Nov. 6 if returning in person and Nov. 9 if postmarked by Nov. 6.

OneStop “Early” voting will begin on Oct. 17 in the Planning and Permits building located at 213 E. Elm St. in Yadkinville. Hours will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 17-19, Oct. 22-26, Oct. 29-Nov. 2 and on Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

All precincts will be open on Election Day, Nov. 6, for voting with curbside voting available to those who cannot enter the voting enclosure.

In addition to U.S. Congressional seat for the 5th district, state House and Senate seats and judicial seats will be held, as well as municipal elections for Jonesville, East Bend and Boonville.

The Jonesville Town Council seats on the ballot will include those held by Andy Green and Anita Darnell, and one unexpired term which had been held by the late Judy Wolfe and will end in 2020. Also, the mayoral seat, held by Gene Pardue, is on the ballot.

David Henderson will challenge incumbent Pardue for the Jonesville mayoral seat. Creston “Chip” Mason and Courtney Michelle Henderson will face incumbents Green and Darnell for the two full-term council seats, with the top two vote-getters earning the seats. Regina Brown Adkins and Danny Lewis have filed for the unexpired term.

The seat of East Bend mayor, held by Archie Hicks, and three commissioners seats — a two-year term held by Mae Luffman and two four-year terms held by Wanda Johnson and George Burns — will be decided in the general election.

Hicks has filed for reelection to mayor, and incumbents Johnson, Burns and Luffman filed for reelection. They are facing no opposition.

In Boonville, the mayoral seat, held by Rusty Hunter IV, and two commissioners seats, held by Gerald Brown and Bonnie Lasky, will be on the November ballot. None of the incumbents have filed for the November general election, and no one filed for the mayor’s race.

Richard Wayne Cook, Larry Bonagura and Justin S. Phillips have filed for the two Boonville town board seats. Yadkin election officials said the mayoral seat will be on the ballot as a write-in slot.

Three Yadkin County commissioners are running unopposed as is the county coroner, clerk of court, register of deeds and sheriff.

Incumbent Virginia Foxx will face a Democrat challenger, D.D. Adams, for the 5th Congressional District. For the new NC State Senate District 34, Democrat Beniah McMiller will face Republican candidate Vickie Sawyer. NC House of Representatives Lee Zachary (R) will face a Democrat challenger, William Stinson.

Six constitutional amendments are on the November ballot as well.

Kitsey Burns Harrison may be reached at 336-518-3049 or on Twitter and Instagram @RippleReporterK.

By Kitsey Burns Harrison