Conference, Regional and All State soccer awards announced

Staff Report

Last week, the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association announced the Women’s soccer All State Players. Forbush High School put three athletes on the roster for the 2A team — Emily Marcincavage, Laura Sloan and Michaela Stone. All three players had an impact on the Lady Falcons’ 2018 season.

Marcincavage knocked in several goals for the Falcons this season, while Sloan held the defensive line and Stone maintained a strong midfield presence.

While Forbush placed three on the All State team, the Falcons had six athletes make the Region 8 team — Marcincavage, Miriana Lyon, Sloan, Stone, Riley Warfel and Macey York.

The Lady Falcons, part of the Western Piedmont Athletic Conference, made it to the fourth round of the 2A North Carolina High School Athletic Association playoffs. Forbush had an overall record of 23-3-1 and a conference record of 12-0. The Falcons scored 131 goals and only allowed seven. At home, Forbush had an overall record of 14-1-1, and on the road they had a record of 8-2.

The Mountain Valley Athletic Conference announced All Conference and Honorable Mention for the 2017-2018 women’s soccer season. The 2018 Player of the Year was Karson Anderson from Wilkes Central, while the 2018 Coach of the Year was Joe McCulloch from Elkin. Players from East Wilkes, Elkin and Starmount were honored as recipients this season.

Along with being honored by the conference, Starmount had four players make the Region 9 team, which is voted on by the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association. The Lady Rams who were honored were Maggie Freed, Hailey Gomez, Isabelle Najera and Alyssa Yanez.

All Conference

Shelia Agilar (East Wilkes)

Karson Anderson (Wilkes Central)

Kaylin Bang (Wilkes Central)

Candace Bell (North Wilkes)

Catie Brown (Elkin)

Christa Burchette (East Wilkes).

Lacey Church (West Wilkes)

Caroline Current (Ashe)

Maggie Freed (Starmount)

Tori Fowler (Wilkes Central)

Hailey Gomez (Starmount)

Kat Jennings (Elkin)

Alicia Martinez (Ashe)

Isabell Najera (Starmount)

Ciara Pierce (East Wilkes)

Savannah Rush (Wilkes Central)

Aryan Shoemaker (Elkin)

Holly Swofford (Wilkes Central)

Katelynn Tester (Ashe)

Morgan Tribble North Wilkes)

Sam Woods (Ashe)

Alyssa Yanez (Starmount)

Honorable Mention

Stephanie Brown (Starmount)

Kenya Carcamo (West Wilkes)

Abbie Flores (Elkin)

Emma Freed (Starmount)

Kaitlyn Hayes (North Wilkes)

Sydney Leapley (North Wilkes)

Allie Lovett (Elkin)

Haley Miller (Ashe)

Leah Nance (East Wilkes)

Mariah Shular (Ashe)

Charity Speaks (East Wilkes

Staff Report